Composition & Electronic Music Studio

2020 International New-Music Festival



Festival Dates: April 3-4, 2020

Festival Locations: USF Barness Recital Hall and USF Concert Hall 

Guest Composer: David Rakowski


Hosted by the USF New Music Consortium, the fourth biennial International New Music Festival will take place April 3-4, 2020 at the University of South Florida’s campus in Tampa, Florida. The festival, having received about 400 submissions from 32 countries in South America, North America, Europe, Asia, and Oceania, will consist of six concerts and host guest composer David Rakowski, along with the 35 selected composers from the call for scores. The festival concert program includes a wide range of solo and ensemble music by the guest composer and participating composers and world premieres of new concertos by composers Hilary Tann and Baljinder Sekhon. In 2020, our guest performers include saxophonist Doug O'Connor and Katherine Weintraub, violinist Sini Virtanen, pianist Ann DuHamel, mezzo-soprano Thea Lobo, clarinetist Asher Carlson, violist Will Whitehead, cellist Chris Pegis, and flutist Kenneth Cox.  

Over the past five years, the International New Music Festival at USF has become one of the most prominent new music festivals in the country. It is a hotbed of activity focused on the dissemination of acoustic and electroacoustic musical research, the fostering of a spirit of intra- and interdisciplinary collaboration, and the cultivation of an environment conducive to professional networking. 

Selected composers and their pieces include the following:

Daniel Adams (Houston, TX), Elusive Rounds 

Logan Barrett (Rochester, NY), Two for 3 to 4 too three four 2

Richard Becker (Richmond, VA), Three Piano Pieces

Ashlee Busch (Mesa, AZ), Atypical Chronicles

Nathan Corder (Oakland, CA), Untitled (for string trio and electronics) 

Patrick Chin Ting Chan (Muncie, IN), In-pulse

Natalie Draper (Syracuse, NY), Until there is nothing left 

Ian Erickson (Springfield, MO), öðlo 

Frederic Glesser (Candler, NC), Etch

Christopher Goddard (Gainesville, FL), Winter Rings 

Sam Hoyland (Athens, GA), Peace of Mind

Sarah Hutchings (Delray Beach, FL), On Seasons of Life's Pursuit

Chen-Hui Jen (Miami, FL), into silence, and keep falling

Amelia Kaplan (Muncie, IN), a brief comment on the current state of insanity

Douglas Knehans (Cincinnati, OH), Red Silk, Black Water

Soobin Lee (Seoul, Korea), The Hologram

JP Lempke (Eugene, OR), Monolipid(s), For Loop(s), DHHS(s), Colonoscopy(ies), Phenycyclohexylamine(s), & the Eloquence of Post-VR Sadness in thus Modern Screen Economy(ies)

John Liberatore (South Bend, IN), Songs of Bright Orange Notes

David Lipten (Tallahassee, FL), Tongue & Groove

Robert McClure (Athens, OH), struggling in exxcess

Lansing McLoskey (Miami, FL), ...que la tierra se partió por su sonido

Thomas Mission (Melbourne, Australia), Sonata for Alto Saxophone and Piano

Nathan Nokes (Austin, TX), You Also

João Pedro Oliveira (Sintra, Portugal), Heavy Metals

Richard Pressley (Hanahan,SC), Haecceitas

Jared Redmond (Seoul, Korea), Doth

Kristian Rodriguez (Phoenix, AZ), Si yo nunca desapareciera

Matthew Schreibeis (Kowloon, Hong Kong), Kinetic Attractions

Andrew Sigler (Knoxville, TN), Through All Panics

Ryne Siesky (Miami, FL), ...grind...

Liza Sobel (Cresskill, NJ), Five Scenes for String Quartet

Ingrid Stölzel (Lawrence, KS), Soul Journey

Monte Taylor (Austin, TX), Sigil II: Amistad

Jorge Variego (Knoxville, TN), Polychromatic resonances

Ania Vu (Philadelphia, PA), Five in One



Eunmi Ko

Benjamin Whiting