Composition & Electronic Music Studio

NMC 2019 Call for Scores


Tampa, FL (USA) - The New-Music Consortium, University of South Florida’s student-run new music organization, has named Sergio Blardony (Spain) and Gintas Kraptavičius (Lithuania) the winners of the 2019 International Call for Scores. The selected works will be performed on the New-Music Consortium’s April 5th concert at the University of South Florida’s School of Music. The concert will take place at 7:30pm in USF’s Barness Recital Hall and is free and open to the public. The New-Music Consortium announced their call for scores during the fall of 2018 and received 175 submissions from 40 countries. The call for scores was open to composers of all ages and all career stages, with the categories of acoustic chamber music and electronic music. Through a blind judging process, the members of the New-Music Consortium selected one winning work in each category.

Acoustic Winner: Sergio Blardony (Spain)

Composition: Un soplo que vacía el pecho

(alto flute, bass clarinet, piano, violin, cello)


Sergio Blardony is a Spanish composer (Madrid, 1965), with numerous awards: Spanish Authors Society (SGAE) Composition first price, the International "City of Tarragona" Award for Musical Composition, Shut Up And Listen! Award (Viena), “Joaquín Turina” Prize, or Space Laboratory Contest 2016... He has composed over 80 works for all manner of instruments and voice: solo and chamber music, ensemble, orchestral, vocal and choral, electroacoustic and multimedia, music-theater… His compositions have been premiered and performed by internationally renowned performers in different countries: Argentina, Austria, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada, Korea, Cuba, China, England, Ethiopia, France, Germany, Ireland, Israel, Mexico, Nepal, Portugal, Russia, Spain, USA... Almost all his works premiered have been recorded by various radio stations and television channels: Radio Clasica-RNE, Catalunya Radio, RTVE-La 2, Radio France, Deutschlandfunk Köln... His compositions are published by various music publishers: Bèrben Edizioni Musicali, Pygmalion, EMEC-Spanish Editor of Contemporary Music, Periferia Sheet Music, Babel Scores, UME (Music Sales Group). He is director of the on-line magazine Sul Ponticello, director of EPOS Laboratory of Creation and Research Music-Word, codirector of the cycle TRASHUMANCIAS - Interdisciplinary Conference, and co-director of the Doble Fondo radio art project, besides participating in other initiatives and cultural and educational projects. More info:




Electronic Winner: Gintas Kraptavičius (Lithuania)

composition: looking forward

(fixed media playback)


Gintas K (born Gintas Kraptavicius; 1969 - ) is a sound artist born in Lithuania. He was the core member of the first Lithuanian industrial music group "Modus". Performances, actions, even short films shape the activities of "Modus" (which is translated as "the way of life"). Later Gintas Kraptavicius was active as a performer and interdisciplinary artist, known for his actions, happenings, written instructions in a post-fluxus manner. In 1999 Gintas turned his stage name into Gintas K and started exploring experimental, electroacoustic, electronic, computer music aesthetics: from overloaded massive structures, static and physically overwhelming frequencies to melodic ambiences, voice and field recordings. To date, he has released 29 albums, contributed to online releases and projects, and participated in various international festivals of new media art and sound art.( *transmediale.05 : Basics, *transmediale.07 : Unfinish!, *ISEA 2015: Disruption, *IRCAM Forum Workshop 2017, *ICMC2018 ).


This year marks the 4rd biennial Call for scores. Previous winners are:



Acoustic: Roger Zare (USA)

Electronic: Nikos Stavropoulos (UK)



Acoustic: Gabriel Bolaños (USA/Nicaragua)

Electronic: Daniel Blinkhorn (Sydney, Australia)



Acoustic: Patrick Chan (USA)

Electronic: Nina C. Young (USA)


The USF New-Music Consortium



Dr. Baljinder S. Sekhon II, - faculty advisor

Dr. Eunmi Ko, - faculty advisor


Board of Officers

President: Michael Standard

Vice President: Sohyun Lim

Secretary & Personnel Manager: Bradley Mikesell

PR Director: Logan Barrett

PR Assistant: Jamie Koller

Technical Director: Joshua Mallard

Logistics and Staging Coordinator: Kyle Dickerson

Librarian: Tucker Johnson

Historian: Hannah Hitchen

Production Board Leader: Kate Lamppert