Composition & Electronic Music Studio

NMC 2017 Call for Scores




Tampa, FL (USA) - The New-Music Consortium, University of South Florida’s student-run new music organization, has named Roger Zare and Nikos Stavropoulos the winners of the 2017 International Call for Scores. The selected works will be performed on the New-Music Consortium’s March 3rd concert at the University of South Florida’s School of Music. The concert will take place at 7:30pm in USF’s Barness Recital Hall and is free and open to the public. The New-Music Consortium announced their call for scores during the fall of 2016 and received 147 submissions from 36 countries. The call for scores was open to composers of all ages and all career stages, with the categories of acoustic chamber music and electronic music. Through a blind judging process, the members of the New-Music Consortium selected one winning work in each category.



Acoustic Winner: Roger Zare

Composition: Lunation 1113

(Violin, Bassoon, Percussion)


Roger Zare has been praised for his “enviable grasp of orchestration” (New York Times) and for writing music with “formal clarity and an alluringly mercurial surface.” Often inspired by science, nature, and mythology, his works have been performed across the United States and on five continents by such musicians and ensembles as the American Composers Orchestra, the Minnesota Orchestra, the Sarasota Orchestra, Boston Musica Viva, the Symphony Orchestra of Minas Gerais, the Akropolis Reed Quintet, the Donald Sinta Quartet, violinist Cho-Liang Lin, and clarinetist Alexander Fiterstein. Zare’s awards include the ASCAP Nissim Prize, three BMI Student Composer Awards, an ASCAP Morton Gould award, a New York Youth Symphony First Music Commission, the 2008 American Composers Orchestra Underwood Commission, a Copland House Residency Award, and a Charles Ives Scholarship from the American Academy of Arts and Letters. He has served as composer-in-residence at the Chesapeake Chamber Music Festival, the Salt Bay Chamber Music Festival, the Chamber Music Festival of Lexington and the SONAR new music ensemble. Zare holds degrees from the University of Michigan, the Peabody Conservatory, and the University of Southern California. His teachers include Bright Sheng, Michael Daugherty, Paul Schoenfield, Kristin Kuster, Christopher Theofanidis, Derek Bermel, and Morten Lauridsen.




Electronic Winner: Nikos Stavropoulos

composition: Topophilia

(5.1 fixed playback)


Nikos Stavropoulos (b. 1975) is a composer of predominantly acousmatic and mixed music. His works are performed and acknowledged internationally (Bourges, 2000,2002, Metamorphose, Brussels 2002,2008,2016, SCRIME, Bordeaux 2003, Musica Miso, Potrugal, 2004, Punto de Encuentro Canarias International Electroacoustic Composition Competition 2008, Destellos Foundation 2015, 2016, Open Circuit 2016). Other interests include the performance practice of electroacoustic music, multichannel practices and teaching music and music technology. He joined the Music, Sound & Performance Group at Leeds Beckett University in 2006 and is a founding member of the Echochroma New Music Research Group, a member of the Irish, Sound, Science and Technology Association (ISSTA) and the Hellenic Electroacoustic Music Composers Association (HELMCA).



This year marks the 3rd biennial Call for scores. Previous winners are:



Acoustic: Gabriel Bolaños (USA/Nicaragua)

Electronic: Daniel Blinkhorn (Sydney, Australia)



Acoustic: Patrick Chan (USA)

Electronic: Nina C. Young (USA)



The USF New-Music Consortium



Dr. Baljinder S. Sekhon II, - faculty advisor

Dr. Eunmi Ko, - faculty advisor


Board of Officers

President/Treasurer - Chace Williams (BM Composition '18)

Vice President/Personnel Manager - Lindsey Jones (MM Violin/Conducting '17)

Production Board Leader/Logistics Coordinator - Logan Barrett (BM Composition '19)

P.R. Director - Zachary Konick (MM Composition '18)

Assistant P.R. Director - Bryan Dowling (BM Violin - '18)

Technical Director - Blake Harrison-Lane (MM Composition '18)

Librarian - Hoang Pho (MM Composition '18)

Historian/Secretary – Mark Gurrola (MM Composition ’18)