Composition & Electronic Music Studio

New-Music Festival 2014
This spring, the USF composition department, in conjunction with the New-Music consortium and various School of Music studios, will be holding an international new-music festival. The principal guest composer will be Ricardo Zohn-Muldoon, chair of composition at the Eastman School of Music. The festival will include lectures and concerts featuring contemporary works by composers around the world.



Basic Information

Principal Guest Composer: Ricardo Zohn-Muldoon

Dates: February 13-15, 2014

Contact: Dr. Baljinder Sekhon,

Festival Schedule


Thursday February 13


12:00pm-6:00pm – Shuttling composers from airport


6:00pm-8:00pm – SYCOM at the CAM



Friday February 14


9:00am – 10:00am – Electronic Rehearsals, Setup in Barness Hall

                                    9:00am: Sound check for Mei-Fang Lin, McManus, You/Baek

                                    9:20am: Sound check for Corder

                                    9:35am: Sound check for Bonacossa


10:00am – 11:00am – Dress Rehearsal, Zohn-Muldoon/President’s Trio (Barness)


10:00am – 11:30am – Composer Presentations (MUS 207)

            Daniel Adams, Tatev Amiryan, Ryan Maguire


11:30am – 12:30pm – Coaching, Zohn-Muldoon, Paramo (MUS - IRH)


11:30am – 1:00pm – Lunch Break (concert 1 dress rehearsals)


11:00am – 12:45pm – Dress Rehearsals in Barness Recital Hall

                                                Coordinator: Vincent Euliano and Susanna Hancock

                                                11:00am: Harrison

                                                11:20am: Boyd

                                                11:45am: Keebaugh/Bahr [tentative]

                                                12:30pm: Bonacossa

                                                12:45pm: Doors Open


1:00pm – Concert 1: Voices, Sounds, and Open Pages (Barness Hall)


3:00pm -  5:00pm – Composer Presentations (MUS 208)

            Lansing McKloskey, Michael Boyd, Jaeseong You, Ryan Keebaugh


5:00pm – 7:30pm – Dinner Break (concert 2 dress rehearsals)


4:00pm – 7:00pm – Dress Rehearsals in Barness Recital Hall

                                                Coordinator: Tyler Kline

                                                4:00pm: Amiryan


                                                5:00pm: Maguire

                                                5:30pm: McKloskey

                                                6:00pm: Daniel Adams

                                                6:45pm: Zohn-Muldoon

                                                7:15pm: Doors Open


7:30pm – Concert 2: Keyboards, Strings, and Two Winds (Barness Hall)


8:45pm – Post-Concert Reception (School of Music Atrium)



Saturday February 15


9:30am – 11:30am – Composer Presentations (MUS 211)

            Michael Timpson, Sun Mi Ro, Andrew McManus, Alex Cooke


11:30am – 1:00pm – Lunch Break (concert 3 dress rehearsals)


11:30am – 12:45pm – Dress Rehearsals in Barness Recital Hall

                                                Coordinator: Sean Hamilton

                                                11:30am: Cooke

                                                11:50am: Rowan

                                                12:00pm: Liberatore

                                                12:15pm: Ketjuntra

                                                12:30pm: Lee (setup)

                                                12:45pm: Doors Open


1:00pm – Concert 3: Brantley, Falwell, Merenda, and McCormick! (Barness)


3:00pm – 5:00pm – Lecture: Ricardo Zohn-Muldoon (MUS 211)


5:00 – 7:30pm – Dinner Break (concert 4 dress rehearsals)


4:00pm – 7:00pm – Dress Rehearsals in USF Concert Hall

                                                Coordinator: Michael Frazier

                                                4:00pm: Tanzi

                                                4:30pm: Sun Mi Ro

                                                4:40pm: Phillips

                                                5:00pm: Zohn-Muldoon

                                                6:15pm: Timpson

                                                7:00pm: Doors Open


7:30pm – Concert 4: Dissolving Borders (USF Concert Hall)


8:45pm – Post-Concert Reception (School of Music Atrium)

The selected composers for the 2014 USF New-Music Festival have been notified. Specifics regarding programming will be posted here in the near future. Congratulations to the following composers whose works will be performed this February in Tampa, FL. Works by these composers were selected from nearly 200 submissions from around the world.



Daniel Adams (Houston, TX)

Tatev Amiryan (Kansas City, MO)

Yoomee Baek (NY)

Jason Bahr (Fort Meyers, FL)

Federico Bonacossa (Miami, FL)

Michael Boyd (Wilkins TWP, PA)

Alex Cooke (Cleveland, OH)

Daniel Harrison (Cincinnati, OH)

Cody Kauhl (Kansas City, MO)

Ryan Keebaugh (Stephen City, VA)

Arsid Ketjuntra (Woodside, NY)

Chihchun Chi-sun Lee (Seoul, South Korea)

John Liberatore (Olean, NY)

Mei-Fang Lin (St. Lubbock, TX)

Ryan Maguire (Charlottesville, VA)

Lansing McKloskey (Miami, FL)

Andrew McManus (Chicago, IL)

Mark Phillips (Athens, OH)

Sun Mi Ro (Ovieto, FL)

Kyle Rowan (Lakeside, CA)

Pierluigi Tanzi (Nerola, Roma, Italy)

Michael Timpson (Seoul, South Korea)

YoungWoo Yoo (Champaign, IL)

Jaeseong You (Astoria, NY)