Jazz Studies

About Jazz Studies at USF

USF Jazz Studies is known internationally for its stellar faculty, accomplished graduates and outstanding student ensembles and composers. Bachelor's and Master's Degrees in Jazz Studies offer the aspiring artist a strong background in jazz theory, improvisation, arranging/composition, and history. In addition, the music educator and others seeking further exposure to jazz will find ample opportunity to participate in ensembles and classes.




Jazz Studies Faculty

Tom Brantley
Associate Professor of Trombone
Jazz Ensemble Director

Phone: (813) 974-2311
Email:brantley@usf.edu
Jay Coble
Associate Professor of Trumpet
Phone: (813) 974-2311
Email:jcoble@usf.edu
Valerie Gillespie
Saxophone
Phone: (813) 974-2311
Email:vgillespie@usf.edu
Ian Goodman
Drums
Phone: (813) 974-2311
Email:igoodman@usf.edu
Mark Neuenschwander
Bass
Phone: (813) 974-2311
Email:neuensch@usf.edu
LaRue Nickelson
Guitar
Phone: (813) 974-2311
Email:lnickels@mail.usf.edu
Chuck Owen
Director of Center for Jazz Composition and Distinguished University Professor
Phone: (813) 974-2311
Email:cowen@usf.edu
Chris Rottmayer
Piano
Phone: (813) 974-2311
Email:chrisr@usf.edu
Jack Wilkins
Professor and Director of Jazz Studies
Jazz Ensembles

Phone: (813) 974-2311
Email:wilkins@usf.edu